OAT BRAN MUFFINS

4 Oct

1 cup spelt flour

7/8 cup oat bran

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/8 cup splenda

1/8 cup flax seeds

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup shredded carrots

1 1/2 cups blueberries (or 1 cup chopped apple and 1/2 cup  raisins)

1/2 cup yogurt

1/8 cup oil

1 tsp vanilla

2 egg whites

1/2 orange, unpeeled and cut into wedges

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine first 9 ingredients (all dry).  Stir in carrots.

Combine yogurt, oil, vanilla, egg whites, and orange wedges in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Mix into dry ing.  Stir just until moist.  Carefully stir in blueberries.  Coat muffin pan with oil spray and spoon mix into 14 muffin  cups.  I KNOW.  But this recipe really does make 14 good sized muffins.  Bake at 375 for 16 minutes.  Remove carefully from pan and cool on a wire rack.

Here is the original recipe.  It sounds delicious too, and I will probably make it when I have those ingredients.  I made enough changes to the original that I thought I’d include the recipe on my sidebar.  These are absolutely delicious, and full of good-for-you ingredients.

A couple of notes:  I was leery of the ‘whole orange’ but it blended up well, and it added a really delicious smell and taste to the muffins.  Second, I know that flax seed mostly goes straight through you.  But I like the texture they add, so I left it that way.  I’m pretty sure you could substitute ground flax seeds and have the same result.

One Response to “OAT BRAN MUFFINS”

  1. Vickie September 7, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    My youngest is liking muffin type things for breakfast and I remembered you had “healthed up” some recipes.

    I am not familiar with spelt flour. Why did you start using it? I would guess my food coop carries it.

Leave a Reply

