VEGGIE STIR FRY

4 Oct

This was a delicious combination, so thought I’d write it down, for myself as well as for anyone else who might me interested.  I was making 3 very large servings, but it would easily be 6 nice sized servings.  I try to cook the veggies in the order of which needs cooking longer.

Ingredients:

carrots, 6-8, slice and place in pan w/1 Tbsp olive oil.

onion, sliced and quartered, add to pan

1/2 small cabbage, slice and add to pan

mushrooms, slice or chop and add to pan

Add 1 Tbsp sesame oil

Add 2 cups of snow peas

Total cooking time for veggies in pan:  15 minutes from start to finish?  I didn’t keep track.  Plus you might like your veggies less cooked than I do.

* In the meantime, I halved a small butternut squash, scooped out the seeds, covered w/plastic wrap and microwaved for 10 minutes.  let it cool, cut off the skin, and cut into chunks.  Add to stir fry at the last minute.

I used one of those pre-cooked packages of brown rice from Trader Joe’s.  It was about  1 3/4 cup.  You cut off a corner and microwave for 1 minute.  Added it to all the veggies, and stirred in some reduced sodium soy sauce.

With the butternut squash added, this was really colorful, and very tasty AND filling.  I can see doing all kinds of variations on this.

Leave a Reply

