Zucchini-Carrot Cake Custard Oatmeal

27 Oct

Whew, that ‘s a long name for a bowl of cereal.  Tonight I wanted some veggies, but I also have been craving custard oats.  I decided to see how many veggies I could include in a bowl of oatmeal, and still have it taste like oatmeal.  Quite a few, it turns out.  Just like in carrot cake or zucchini bread, the veggies only add a great texture, not really much flavor.  Very yummy and I always feel so virtuous when I can include vegetables in a breakfast food.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup steel cut oats, or combination of steel cut oats and quinoa, like I like to use.

2 cups water

2 cups shredded carrots and zucchini (I used 2/3 of a medium zucchini, and 2 small carrots)

2 Tbsp flaxseed meal

1-2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/8 tsp vanilla

1-2 Tbsp splenda, or sweetener of choice

4 egg whites, beaten lightly with a wisk(or 1/2 cup eggbeaters)

chopped walnuts (or whatever else you like in your oats.)

Cooking Directions

Bring water to a boil, add oats.  Reduce heat to medium.  Set timer for 15 minutes.  In the meantime, separate the four egg whites and beat lightly with a wisk.  Grate the zucchini and carrots (I use a mandolin.)

When timer goes off, add veggies to oats.  I added another 1/4 cup of water at this point, because it was a LOT of veggies compared to the oats.  Probably wasn’t necessary, as the veggies added some moisture as they cooked.  Reduce heat to medium low, and cook for another 10 minutes.  Add the flaxseed meal, spice,,vanilla, and sweetener, and cook for a minute or two.  Remove from heat and add egg whites SLOWLY while stirring quickly the whole time.  When egg whites have all been in corporated into oats, return to heat and cook for another minute or two.  Remove from heat and stir in chopped walnuts.  This actually made 3 good size servings.

One Response to “Zucchini-Carrot Cake Custard Oatmeal”

  1. Jenny October 28, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    This sounds so good. I love reading your recipes and reading your descriptions of cooking. At my stage in life, I only deal with recipes with no more than 3 ingredients. But I greatly admire you girls who create, cook, AND take pictures. Even if I could manage this delish sounding oatmeal, I could NEVER “add egg whites SLOWLY while stirring quickly the whole time.” I wish you would video yourself doing this! You must be right up there with Paula Dean, who is one of my culinary heroes. Keep up the good work of making my days with stories and pics of your puppies and your food!

Leave a Reply

