Very Light Banana Muffins

20 Mar

img_9180

1 large very ripe banana, mashed thoroughly

1/2 cup oat bran

1/2 cup egg beaters

1/4 cup almond milk

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp vanilla

dash cinnamon

2 Tbsp splenda or sweetener of choice

5 walnut halves

2/3 Tbsp mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients well. Spray muffin tin with Pam and fill 5 muffin tins with mix.  Crumble one walnut half into each tin and sprinkle a few mini chocolate chips in each. (I used a TOTAL of 2/3 of a Tbsp.) Stir in with a knife. Bake 20-22 minutes.

5 servings 90 calories each.

I usually make three large muffins, 135 calories each. Stats: fat 4g, Carb 18g, Fiber 2.4g, Protein 7.8g.

2 Responses to “Very Light Banana Muffins”

  1. Joyce Ciotti August 22, 2016 at 2:32 pm #

    MOIST & CHEWY. Very good recipe. I was browsing for a simple bran recipe that does not use any “general” flour- of any kind. I made the recipe within minutes of reading it. I used 2 whole pasteurized eggs instead, and I omitted the walnuts. Your recipe made six average cupcake-size muffins. We promptly ate two each. These are the most moist bran muffins, ever. And, I LUV the chewy texture. I plan to add your recipe to my Pinterest files. Thank you.
    /Users/Joyce/Desktop/IMG_9420.jpg

    • debby August 22, 2016 at 2:56 pm #

      I’m so glad you liked them. They are one of my favorite recipes. When I get my chickens next year, I will substitute the whole eggs too!

Leave a Reply

