Banana Split Frozen Yogurt Bars

21 Sep

These bars are a delicious treat in the middle of the summer heat. I’ve written a basic recipe for you here, but basically there are a million variations, depending on what yogurt you start with, and what mix-ins you choose. I just write down the calories of each item as I add it in, total the calories, and then divide through by 6 or 8, depending on how I choose to cut the bars.

Ingredients:

2 cups yogurt (if you use unsweetened yogurt, you might want to add your sweetener of choice.)

3/4 cup granola

1 cup frozen cherries

1 very ripe mashed banana

1 oz chopped walnuts

2 Tbsp mini chocolate chips

Mix all ingredients together and put in an 8X8 or 9×9 pan. Freeze until firm, and then cut into bars. Wrap individually in plastic wrap and keep in freezer. To eat, take out about 20-30 minutes ahead of time to allow to soften up.

For this particular recipe, I used whole milk yogurt, divided into 8 bars, and my stats came out to about 135 calories per bar.

4 Responses to “Banana Split Frozen Yogurt Bars”

  1. Gene Black August 10, 2016 at 3:23 am #

    Since I can’t have the banana (alllergy) is there something that I can substitute for it?

    • debby August 10, 2016 at 4:51 am #

      If I was making them without the banana, I would just substitute another 3/4 cup of yogurt. That would make the calorie count the same.

  2. Joyce August 10, 2016 at 5:01 am #

    Could you freeze these bars in a corn pone pan lined with plastic wrap? Easier to separate, I would think.

    • debby August 10, 2016 at 5:15 am #

      What a great idea! I don’t have a corn pone pan, but I’m sure it would work. Its not really hard to cut them if you remember to cut them before they are frozen solid.

Leave a Reply

